The Difference

Me:

Despite feeling dizzy and a level of fatigue I can only describe as “crushing” after I work, I pick up the kid from school. I take her to a park, despite it being about 100 degrees because she needed to feel how hot it was herself. Bring her home, feed the dog, get dinner started. While some of it cooks, play with the kid. Serve dinner to have it refused by the kid, refused by the husband when he gets home and pack up leftovers. Play with the kid, get her ready for bed, read stories and tuck her in.

Husband:

Come home from work just as dinner is ready and say “I have a headache, I’m going to lay down.” Get up just as it’s time to put the kid in bed, rile her up and then play Angry Birds on the phone while the wife attempts to get her to settle down to sleep.

And that… is the difference between being the mom and being the dad.

Leave a comment